Finding Passion!

Posted on

By Stephanie Reed

For me, there was no real struggle to find my passion, for others, it can be a complicated process. Some might ask, “what is passion in the 1st place”? Passion has been defined as an emotion or intense drive; a feeling of conviction; a desire for or devotion to some activity, object, or concept. Simply stated, passion is what you care about; its what drives you.

I consider myself to be an introvert and a pretty introspective person. I pay very close attention to how I “feel” and base much of my behavior around that. As a college student it became very clear to me that I cared a great deal about completing college and had some very strong feelings about what I got out of my college experience. That feeling is what led me to focus my career aspirations on “the business of college” or higher ed administration.  Some of my family may argue, that this career path was predestined for me!  At a family barbecue  when I was a child (many, many, many years ago) we used to have talent contests and I sang a song once that I had made up. The song was about how I was going off to college and it was going to be GREAT!  Who would’ve thought that my childhood song would become my adult reality! Go Figure!    

 As I have grown as a person and as a young professional, I have tried to match my interests in psychology (my college major) with my strong conviction for education.  I took the time to find out (while I was a college student) what the people who I looked up to did to get where they were.  I actually had meetings with the Vice President of my university to inquire about her role and how she came to acquire her position.  I later found people to mentor me which really aided me in my career decison making.  However, ultimately the decision to work in higher education was born out of my passon.

Passion can also be what people do when they are NOT working.  As an adult and mid-level experienced professional, I now try to find ways to continue to feed my passion outside of work. Take this blog for instance, I started this not out of need or requirement in my current job but because I wanted to share my story/passion and expertise with people.  My passsion continues to drive me to do things like write books and pursue a desire to be a public speaker! 

The moral of the story is, I LOVE what I do and I actually enjoy doing it even when I am NOT getting paid to do it.  For the person who is struggling to find their passion, perhaps THAT is the question to ask yourself.  “What would you do for FREE….what activity or job would you perform for absolutley NO FINANCIAL REWARD?”  Therein lies the answer to your question….you might have just FOUND YOUR PASSION!

10 thoughts on “Finding Passion!

    antoinette said:
    July 27, 2010 at 1:45 am

    Very inspirational:-)…Keep writing

      aspire2higher responded:
      July 29, 2010 at 3:07 pm

      Thanks Sexy Scientist! You (and other SUPER Career Moms like you) inspire me to write…I’m just trying to keep up with you, LOL!

    Alicia said:
    July 27, 2010 at 1:01 pm

    I agree with Antoinette- Very inspirational!!! I truly enjoyed reading this blog and felt energized afterward :-).

      aspire2higher responded:
      July 29, 2010 at 2:58 pm

      Hello Alicia!

      Thanks for the support and feedback! I am glad to hear that you felt energized after reading…that’s my GOAL! 🙂

      Your comment has made me smile!
      Be Well

    Wanda said:
    July 27, 2010 at 11:05 pm

    When you were little and you sang that song, oh, how we laughed and thought it was so cute. LOL, you had passion in singing it, so I knew you were college bound.

    Back in the day of your older cousins, and Aunts, college wasn’t as important to get a job. Believe or not, mainly because of movies. There wasn’t a lot of things women had a choice in, my passion was to be a Secretary. This desire/passion came from all of the movies I saw. My dad, said the best jobs, were with the government. Thus, my passion was fulfilled, until it no longer worked for me. Fortunately, in the government you can move up easily with or without a college degree, and you could go far and make a lot of money. Also, back then, you weren’t encouraged to go off to school in another state. I guess, if we had insisted, our parents probably would have scraped the money together. Knowing what I know now, I’d do it differently, perhaps even taken a job abroad, most likely Paris. Still with the government, but I would have been a little more adventureous.

    I hope you can mentor your younger cousins (all of them, younger than you, not just the ones in school,) to realize all they can be/do, if they ventured beyond the hood, so to speak.

    Keep up the good work Steph!!!!

      aspire2higher responded:
      July 29, 2010 at 2:51 pm

      Hi Wanda,
      Thank you for sharing your story and your insight. I welcome feedback from everyone so my readers can get multiple perspectives. Government is a very viable honorable and valuable industry to work in. I wish more young professionals would consider government as a place to build a strong career, especially now in this economic climate…private industry just isn’t hiring in large numbers anymore. There’s a ton of opportunity for growth within the government. Afterall, you never know, where you might find or fuel your passion…

      College Students and Recent Grads…below is a link where you can find federal jobs listed by college major:

      http://www.usajobs.gov/EI/jobsbycollegemajor.asp#icc

      Another good website is:
      http://www.makingthedifference.org

    Wanda said:
    July 27, 2010 at 11:09 pm

    What would I do for free? I’d like to speak to young girls/women about respecting themselves and being comfortable with themselves.

    Mary said:
    August 2, 2010 at 6:57 pm

    Stephanie, I really enjoyed reading this blog. I am struggling with this very topic. I am encouraged by the fact that you have found your passion and I look forward to the day that I can say the same thing. Keep doing what you are doing and may God continue to smile on you.

      aspire2higher responded:
      August 2, 2010 at 7:43 pm

      Thaks so much Mary! I really appreciate your support and if I can help you answer any questions, feel free to reach out! Let me know of a couple topics you’d like to know more about, and I’ll see what I can come up with.

      Thanks again for your encouraging words and for reading!

    […] the fact that I am blessed to be employed at all, but more importantly, I am blessed to  have a VISION and PASSION in my career!  Once I got home and fed the children, I did spend a little time perusing job search […]

Comments are closed.