Get Out of Your Career RUT!

Posted on

I know some of you are saying, “Yeah that’s easier, said than done.” Well, I would have to agree with you. Here’s what else I have to say to you… Take Charge of Your Career!

A career rut comes in many varieties and has no type. Anyone can find themselves falling deeply into what seems like a career abyss. Not even the seasoned professional or executives are immune.  The fact of the matter is, if you have no passion (or lost yours) for what you do for a living, you will indeed find yourself there.  No one else can save you from a so-called “career rut” but YOU!   

While I might be considered a “young professional” to some, I started this blog to share my perspective and yes…dispense career advice based on my expertise as a career counselor, but mostly from my personal experience.  I have recently been moved to share 3 morsels of advice based on questions I have received from people and e-mail inquiries.

1.      Find Your Center!

Whenever I get an email or phone call from a person who is upset and aggravated over something happening in their current job, so they want me to help them find a new one, I often ignore them for a couple of days.  I do this so that they can talk to me without all the emotion so that perhaps I can determine what it is they really need.  There is a difference between needing to blow off some steam and making a career transition so take the time to center yourself and listen to your “inner voice” or conscience. 

 For some, “Finding Your Center” may consist of taking yoga, doing some meditating or praying.  For me, it means consulting GOD and myself about my decisions before I reach out to anyone else for their opinions or help.  I have found that it is smart to wait a bit before setting any plan into motion.  If it helps you to write keep a journal of your thoughts and refer to it a few days, if not a week or two later. (Of course, if you see a job you want to apply for in the meantime, this my speed up the process a bit)  What’s important here is that you don’t make a rash decision about your career based on someone making you angry at work.  Your decision should be based on self-reflection and what is best for you and your situation.  

2.      Don’t Just Do Your Job-Manage Your SUCCESS!

At some point in all of this you should begin to do more than just pleasing your boss, getting to work on time and passing your performance review.  Again, I challenge you to be in CHARGE of YOUR CAREER!  Make a decision about where your career is going and make consistent and steady effort to get there.  For example, I don’t put much stock into or invest much of my energy into what rating I get from a boss on a performance review. What I do take very seriously are the things I am doing that are consistent with my VISION.  This does not mean you should have a lack of respect for your current role, particularly if you rely on it to pay your bills.  However, I think you will find it very beneficial to begin volunteering for things outside of your normal role that will help you meet your own career goals.  Additionally, some simple things you can do to manage your success is save any accolades you receive and update your resume regularly.  The key take away here is to learn how to run your life as you would your business! (I will blog more about this very soon)

3.      Do YOU!

This, my friends is the simple part and should (almost) be taken literally.  My friends and I often say this to each other playfully-sometimes even during arguments and/or disagreements. Similar to the Nike slogan, “Just Do IT”- I believe everyone should just do what works for them! While it’s a common practice to have mentors or people we aspire to be like, I don’t think you should emulate or copy someone else’s path. What GOD has for you is just for YOU!  Upon receiving feedback from trusted friends and respected colleagues, at the end of the day, Just DO YOU!

Below you will find advice from a group of respected career counselors, writers bloggers etc.  This was a blog posting I found to be very helpful and filled with a wealth of great advice for anyone trying to decide whether or not to embark on a career transition.  I wish you the best…ASPIRE!

http://careersherpa.net/career-change-isnt-an-exact-science/