Vision Work: Part 1-Creating My Own Vision Board

Posted on Updated on

I got into a discussion one day last week with someone very close to me. Specifically we were talking about actions we need to take to meet our goals and what it takes to see results.  The more I engaged in this conversation, the more I became annoyed.  Although this person meant absolutely no harm in giving me their opinion about success, I was slightly offended. What offended me the most, was that they thought I wasn’t doing enough blogging, writing, promoting myself etc. While I agreed that there must be some level of consistency in actions to achieve goals, I did not like the way the message was being delivered. I felt like I was being told, I wasn’t doing enough, therefore I would not be successful…this was not a very productive discussion.  After mulling this over for a few days and losing my focus, it hit me….I had to tell myself, “Stephanie, YOU define your OWN SUCCESS! Why are you even taking this personally?!”  Soon after, I got focused on what I refer to as my #Vision Work!

What is Vision Work?

I believe that I have found my purpose and passion. I have a very clear plan in my mind of what I should be doing with my life and for a living. I believe that plan is my Vision.  I can’t say with certainty that this is exactly what GOD has set forth for me to do for the rest of my life.   What I can say is, that since I have come to the realization that Aspire2Higher should be more than a catchy phrase or e-mail address, my mind is consumed with thoughts of growing Aspire2Higher as a movement and business.  What I see in my mind for this business in the future is my VISION.   The job of creating Aspire2Higher as a business and providing career & personal development coaching services has become my Vision Work. 

Back to last week…..

I needed a way to channel all that energy I felt.  I went from feeling disappointed and deflated, to energized and re-focused and I thought, why not take this time to create a Vision Board for Aspire2Higher?  I’ve had Vision Boards in the past to help get me through grad school and such, but not one that was a visual plan for my career and life goals.  I decided to create a Vision Board on my refrigerator, one of the most frequented places in my home! This should help me to stay focused on my vision, and force me to communicate my vision to others, as people ask about this creation in my kitchen!

What is a Vision Board:

A vision board is a tool used to help clarify, concentrate and maintain focus on a specific life goal. Literally, a vision board is any sort of board on which you display images that represent whatever you want to be, do or have in your life.  It comes from the practice of visualization.  There are so many ways of doing this and tons of resources out there to get you started or keep your creative juices flowing if you are upgrading existing vision boards or making topic based or themed boards for other areas of your life. Below are links to some resources that I have found helpful in the past.

Vision Board Link!

Topic Based- Vision Board

Great Resource–Preview Your Life

Great online community for Self-Motivation!

Here are a couple of samples:

IMG_01091[1]

IMG_01122[1]

VB

What is the Purpose?

Your vision board should serve as motivation, visualization and a focal point that helps you to do the following:

  • Give life & clarity to your vision, dreams or goals
  • Provide you with daily affirmations.
  • Revive your spirit, rejuvenate you and get you excited about your vision!

One thing I think has gotten “Lost In Translation” in all the talk on television and on the internet about vision boards is this concept it will “manifest” in your life after you simply release it into the universe…what a crock!  While I agree with the Universal Laws of Attraction, I believe more in Psalms 46:10 that says:

“Be Still and know that I Am GOD”

This is what I try to do after creating a vision board.  However, it is important to remember James 2:20: “Faith without works is dead.” And THIS my friends,  is the key to what I call Vision Work!  While I know its important to have a vision and to practice visualization-it is equally important to put in the work to help the universe manifest your dreams and vision.  Everything I do, no matter how large or how small is part of my Vision Work! This includes, when I take a step back from writing, and posting to the blog, or publishing a book…it’s all part of a larger plan.  That plan is one that only I and GOD are truly privy to, so no one else can tell me when I am not “hitting the mark” or achieving success!  Ultimately I must stay focused on the Vision Work!

I have started this blog so that my journey can motivate others to begin, or stay steadfast on developing their VISION and focusing on the Vision Work necessary.  I hope you will share your Vision Work stories here with me!

ASPIRE!

3 thoughts on “Vision Work: Part 1-Creating My Own Vision Board

    […] been on my mind.  I don’t want to misrepresent myself through this blog, like working on my VisionWork has been a walk on easy […]

    UNAPOLOGETIC AMBITION! « Aspire2Higher (A2H) said:
    June 17, 2011 at 2:44 am

    […] did not come to this realization easily, nor am I free of fears. However, I have a vision and clear plan that allows me to block out my fears.  I no longer seek permission or consensus […]

    […] reality, I have viewed Beyoncé’s career as the epitome of executing what I have coined, “Vision Work”. Like her or not, she and her team have been able to effectively set their goals high, make […]

Comments are closed.