Lessons in the Form of Experiences(L.I.F.E.)Series Pt.2– Struggle is Part of the Journey

Posted on

Hello Aspire Friends!

Stressed, worried, or struggling to stay focused?

In this post, I’d like to engage the community in an extended conversation.  L.I.F.E. for me has not been very easy these last couple of weeks or months!  But you know what–I want to be genuine with my “followers” or readers and give you a full representation of what it is to pursue your dreams. I don’t have all the answers. I have acquiesced to this fact. So I thought I would share with you guys what’s been on my mind.  I don’t want to misrepresent myself through this blog, like working on my VisionWork has been a walk on easy street.

On the contrary, I have had several sleepless nights due to disappointments, frustrations, financial worries, and the like. This journey has certainly had its share of ups and downs along the way.  In fact, day-to-day is a constant struggle to justify spending time on this dream.  Sometimes I question if I have what it takes to pull this off. Particularly, I wonder if I can do it and provide for my family at the same time.  Although I know if I am successful, my children will reap those benefits, I often wonder if I am taking away from their quality of life TODAY! I need to be present with my children NOW! So I try to manage my time in ways that allow me to do both things.  While I may not have much of a social life now, I may be financially strapped (real talk), I at least have my VISION! I don’t know that I will realize it fully, I just know that having that allows me to walk right through those struggles with my head held high!

What I have known for sometime,  but have now come to experience as an adult really working for a desired outcome, is that struggle is part of the journey. It is necessary for growth to occur.  At the risk of sounding cliché, I refer to the example of the process a lump of coal undergoes while becoming a diamond.  The pressure that is applied to the coal is what makes it beautiful at the end of the process. The most interesting part of that to me is that becoming a diamond is not the END of the road for that coal (now diamond).  It just becomes a brand new element and begins a whole new L.I.F.E or process.  It is the most valuable after going through that rigorous process.

So, in the meantime I will consider this road I am on and my efforts to blog, write a book and start a small business ( I know it’s a lot, right?) my lump of coal that will one day be a diamond!Well, that’s my L.I.F.E ….anyone else care to share?

Thanks for listening/reading.

~~Aspire2Higher