I Don’t Know How She Does It?

Posted on

balancedlife

I am writing this post tonight because I sometimes really struggle with balancing my career, my aspirations to work for myself and my personal relationships. This often leaves me wondering, “Does A Balanced Life Exist”?  Another thing that led me to write this was my response when someone asked me, “How do you do it all”?  The truth is I DON”T KNOW

Here’s What I Think:

The concept of balance works theoretically. However, I am not so sure that one can truly have a balanced life. I have also given up on the notion of work-life balance.

balance

Here’s What Works For Me:

When people ask me how I manage to do all the things that I do, I am often confused…..because I don’t do much of anything else but WORK!  I do not have a (social) LIFE, and in some ways, this works for me. I am not suggesting that everyone buy into this, but so far its how I manage having a challenging 9-5 while also running a start-up.  So Since people often ask me “HOW I DO IT”, I can only offer you tips based on my own experiences   (For my friends and family, this might be a little revealing about why you don’t see or hear from me for months at a time!)

  • PLAN your evenings!

This is very important for me during the week especially, but I even plan how I will spend my weekend evenings. Most times, these plans change, but I ALWAYS go into the evening with a plan for how I am going to spend my time.  Now don’t misunderstand me, I do not strategically plan every detail, sometimes my plan is as simple as, read or return A2H emails BEFORE 8pm so I can catch my favorite shows on Bravo or WE.

  • Remember to tell yourself that small things count!

Now, we’ve established that it helps that I always come home from work with a plan, this second point is equally as important.   My plans are not very grandiose. I keep things simple and realistic…..I come home to a 6 & 7-year-old every day, and  their needs totally supersedes the plans!  I remind myself often, that small daily deliberate actions, lead to staggering long-term results!  I do something for A2H everyday, even if its scheduling tweets, reviewing my Facebook Insights, or just jotting down a few notes. I don’t feel like I have to build Rome in one day….and neither should you!

  • Allow yourself to be flexible & creative!

Take tonight for example, instead of beating myself up about not going to the gym, I decided to just have fun and get creative. I worked out (following a trainer via my Ipad) with my kids in the living room. I killed 2 birds with one stone…. I needed to get some exercise in and I spent some fun quality time with my kiddies.  Here’s what else works for me, some evenings, I make an effort to not turn on my television and I even hide my cellphone so I am not distracted by calls or texts.  Many times, after I have put the kids in bed ( well at least the first attempt to put them in bed) I tune out everything else with some serious headphones, my music and my Ipad and next thing you know…..I am in a ZONE!

Well, that’s the best I can offer when people ask me “How do you do it”?  It’s not rocket science folks, but it is about having passion for your goals!

Oh, and for the movie buffs out there, in 2011 there was a movie with the same title as this blog post that I found to be very funny, honest, charming and heart warming! If you haven’t seen it, check out the trailer below: