Lessons in the Form of Experiences (L.I.F.E. Series)Pt. 7 : IMAGINATION

Posted on Updated on

20140619-212325-77005688.jpg

Photo Credit: http://all-images.org/imagination-makes-our-days-much-more-exciting-and-interesting/

 

As a child I had an active imagination and as a teen that imagination turned into plain old grandiose dreams. I used to imagine myself as a singer and movie star and even as a teen, I would sometimes create fake television shows and videos in my basement. Well, only a few things have changed. I no longer dream of being famous, singing or acting. However, I am still guilty of getting lost in my imagination. These days I use my imagination to guide my work and voila……you have what I have coined “VISIONWORK” (trademark forthcoming).

The Aspire2Higher movement follows the precept that ALL your work should be VISIONWORK, meaning that your work should be steps, action items, or strategies leading to the development of your VISION.

 

Your imagination should be the compass by which you navigate your life. Use it as a guide. Then tap into your creativity to paint what you imagine into existence!

In adulthood I suggest that we move from playful imagination to what we call VISUALIZATION as adults. If you are an avid reader of self-help books, you are very well aware of The Laws of Attraction . Allow me for a moment to attempt an explanation recalled from my undergraduate psychology major. The practice of visualization affects the neurological networks/pathways in your brain. Visualizing enables you to tap into (and perhaps control) your sub-conscious mind. The theory, in short, suggests if you are in the habit of practicing visualization, you can attract more of what you want in your life.

I still escape into my imagination as a professional. As an Aspire2Higher leader I let my imagination (aka visualizing) aid me in goal setting, and it guides my visionwork. Just this morning I was awaken by my imagination. As I lie in bed, I visualized A2H events and collaborations that some might think outlandish (especially knowing my budget). I however am fully committed to modeling an Aspire2Higher life and in doing so, I choose to think of my imagination as a preview of what is to come.

I leave you with this quote from Adele Brookman:

Use your imagination not to scare yourself to death, but to inspire yourself to life.

What do you imagine?